This year, four awards were given at ICMMES-2016. The awards are aiming at supporting young scientists working in the ICMMES' focused areas. The winners were selected by a selection committee appointed by the ICMMES Scientific Committee and the local organizing committee. The awards were given by the head of the ICMMES scientific committee, Prof. Li-Shi Luo (ODU/CSRC), and the head of the ICMMES local organizing committee, Dr. Christian F. Janßen (TUHH), during the closing ceremony on Friday (see pictures here).


The ICMMES-Sugon Award for Young Scientists

The ICMMES-Sugon Award is given to young scientists (up to 6 years after his/her PhD defense) working in the ICMMES' focused areas, with an emphasis on, but not limited to, HPC related applications. The award includes US$1000 plus a waive of registration fees to attend ICMMES conference

Award winners


Songze Chen, Hua Zhong University of Science and Technology

For his study on gas kinetic schemes and unified gas kinetic schemes for flows in continuum and nonequilibrium regions.




The ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipients

The ICMMES-CSRC Award is given to a young scientist who recently finished his/her PhD (up to 2 years after his/her PhD defense) in one of the ICMMES' focused areas. The award includes US$500 cash plus a waive of registration fees to attend ICMMES conference. Further details can be found here. The application or nomination should be submitted to by Saturday, April 30, 2016.

Award winners


Amin Safi, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen

For his work  GPU implementation and numerical investigation of LB models for multi-component fluids.




The ICMMES Award for the Best GPU-Related Presentation by Students and Post-Docs

The PNY Award for the Best Presentation on GPU Computing and Applications will be given to a student or post-doctoral researcher (up to 2 years after PhD degree). All students and post-doctral researchers who give presentations on GPU computing and applications are qualified to be a winner. The winner will be selected during the ICMMES Conference and will be annouced and presented during the Conference's Closing Ceremory. A selection committee appointed by ICMMES Scientific Committee will be responsible for deciding the winner. The winner will receive a recent NVIDIA high-performance GPU to support his/her research.


Award winners


Dennis Mierke, Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH)

For his presentation on the "Efficient Calculation of Sub-grid Distances for Higher-Order Boundary Conditions".




The ICMMES-MDPI Best Poster Award

The ICMMES-MDPI Best Poster Award is given to the best poster presentation at the ICMMES-2016 conference. All participants who make poster presentations automatically qualify to enter, and the winner will receive 300 CHF in cash.

Award winners


Yu-Hang Tang, Brown University, USA

For his poster on "Petascale Dissipative Particle Dynamics of Biomedical Microfluidic Devices"













Find us on Facebook: